可充分利用 IT 采购预算的三种方法

德勤在 2018 年进行的一项调查显示,78% 受访的首席采购官认为降低成本是首要战略重点。但该调查也发现,仅 31% 的首席采购官希望通过提高供应商竞争来实现这种价值。

当公司大量购买 PC 时,有机会节省一大笔钱。从三种简单的方法中,您可以通过提高 IT 招标的竞争力,从 IT 预算中获得更多价值。

公开竞争

毫无疑问,合并在主要供应商方面的开支是有好处的,但您应该确保这样做不会导致超支。

向更多供应商发出需求建议书 (RFP) 可增加获得更有竞争力投标的机会,这是常识。可供选择的报价越多,您就越有底气要求供应商提供免费的增值服务,例如支持。

避免限制性措辞

在许多国家/地区,公共机构对于撰写“供应商中立”的招标书有严格规定。这似乎是不必要的繁文缛节,但有充分理由避免使用可能会限制选择的措辞。

通过避免表达品牌偏好或将供应商限制于特定解决方案的措辞,可以提高招标的竞争性。“供应商中立”的需求建议书使供应商可以灵活地寻找成本效益最高的方法来满足您的需求。

指定最低性能水平

台式电脑和笔记本电脑的招标通常提供参考系统或组件来指定最低性能要求。然而,甚至专家也认为,仅以规格为依据很难准确比较不同 PC 系统的性能。

规定 PC 性能的更好方法是使用行业标准基准测试程序,例如 PCMark 10。基准测试程序在 PC 上运行一系列测试,然后提供代表系统性能的分数。PCMark 10 基准测试所含的测试涵盖现代办公场所中的各种任务,分数代表这些任务的 PC 总体性能。

在需求建议书中设定最低基准测试分数可确保您不会误认为较便宜但性能低下的 PC 规格是经济实惠的。要求供应商在建议书中提供基准测试分数可大大方便您比较竞争性报价。用基准测试分数表示 PC 性能还可降低您超支购买过高规格系统的可能性。

充分利用 IT 预算

为了获得最好的 IT 招标结果,请结合采用这些做法:实行公开竞争;使用“供应商中立”的措辞;使用参考基准测试分数指定最低 PC 性能要求。这样做很有好处,使供应商可以自由地建议您之前可能没有考虑到的创新解决方案。

如需有关使用适合 PC 采购的 UL 基准测试的更多建议,请联系我们。

联系我们 PCMark 10
UL 和 UL 商标是 UL LLC 的商标 © 2020 保留所有权利。  |   隐私政策  |  Cookie 政策  |  使用条款
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Three ways to make your IT procurement budget go further

Cost reduction is the top strategic priority for 78% of Chief Procurement Offices surveyed by Deloitte in 2018. But the same survey found that only 31% of CPOs are looking to increase supplier competition to deliver that value.

When a company buys PCs in large volumes, the savings can be significant. Let's look at three easy ways you can get more value from your IT budget by increasing competition for your IT tenders.

Open competition

While there are undoubtedly benefits to consolidating spend with key suppliers, you should take care to ensure that it doesn't result in spending more than you should.

It's common sense that opening your Request for Proposal (RFP) to more suppliers will increase your chances of getting a more competitive offer. With more offers to choose from, you'll also be in a stronger position to negotiate complementary added-value services such as support.

Avoid restrictive language

In many countries, public agencies have strict rules for writing vendor-neutral tenders. It may seem like unnecessary bureaucracy, but there are good reasons to avoid using language that can limit your choices.

You can increase competition for your tenders by avoiding language that expresses a brand preference or restricts suppliers to a particular solution. A vendor-neutral RFP gives suppliers the flexibility to find the most cost effective way to meet your requirements.

Specify minimum performance levels

Tenders for desktop PCs and laptop computers often provide a reference system or components to specify the minimum required performance. But even experts find it hard to accurately compare the performance of different PC systems from their specifications alone.

A better way to define PC performance is to use an industry-standard benchmarking program such as PCMark 10. A benchmarking program runs a series of tests on the PC then provides a score that represents the system's performance. In PCMark 10, the benchmark tests cover a wide variety of tasks performed in the modern workplace and the score represents the PC's overall performance for those tasks.

Setting a minimum benchmark score in your RFP ensures that you won't be distracted by the false economy of a cheaper PC specification that underperforms. Asking your suppliers to provide benchmark scores in their proposals makes it far easier to compare competing offers. When you see PC performance expressed as a benchmark score, you'll also be less likely to overspend on overspecified systems.

Get more for your IT budget

For the best results for your IT tenders, combine open competition with vendor-neutral language and specify the minimum required PC performance with a reference benchmark score. This powerful combination will give your suppliers the freedom to suggest innovate solutions that you may not have considered otherwise.

Please contact us if you would like more advice on using UL benchmarks for PC procurement.

Contact us PCMark 10
UL and the UL logo are trademarks of UL LLC © 2018 All Rights Reserved.  |   Privacy Policy  |  Cookie Policy  |  Terms and conditions